Press "Enter" to skip to content

Colorado announces $21 million to expand EV charging network

Grants create 290 new fast charger ports at 46 different sites, increasing existing public fast-charger network of more than 1,000 ports by about 28%

Denver—Governor Jared Polis and the Colorado Energy Office (CEO) announced $21 million in grant awards this month through the Direct-Current Fast-Charging (DCFC) Plazas program. Grants will create 290 new fast charger ports at 46 different sites across the state, expanding Coloradans access to fast, affordable, and reliable EV chargers. This will increase Colorado’s existing public fast-charger network of more than 1,000 ports by about 28%.

Awardees will install chargers in locations across the state, including Cañon City, Littleton, Dolores, Silverton, Yuma, and Fort Garland. The awards aim to fill charging gaps along Colorado’s federally designated alternative fuel corridors.

With more than 100,000 EVs registered in Colorado, and the pace of adoption growing, the expansion of the charging network is necessary to meet consumer demand. As of February, there were direct-current (DC) fast chargers located within 30 miles of 78% of the state’s geographic area.

Grant awardees include charging station operators, fuel providers, convenience stores, and local governments. Funding will support the following EV-charging infrastructure projects:

  • 7-Eleven: Aurora, Colorado Springs
  • Apro LLC. (dba United Pacific): Colorado Springs, Littleton
  • Circle K Stores, Inc.: Brighton, Denver, Durango, Greenwood Village, Pueblo
  • EvGateway: Alamosa, Clifton, Dolores, Lakewood, South Fork
  • Francis Energy Charging, LLC: Montrose
  • Helios Charging Inc.: Monte Vista, Silverton
  • Jule (dba eCAMION USA Inc.): Fort Garland, Holyoke, Yuma
  • Love’s Travel Stops & Country Stores, Inc: Burlington, Cañon City, Fountain, Pueblo, Walsenburg
  • Phillips 66 Company: Colorado Springs (X2), Grand Junction
  • Pilot Travel Centers LLC: Limon
  • Tesla, Inc.: Arvada, Aurora, Bennett, Brush, Carbondale, Denver, Frisco, Glenwood Springs, Greeley, Gunnison, La Junta, Lakewood, Longmont, Parker, Sterling, Wheat Ridge
  • Town of Avon: Avon

A map of the current funding award locations is available on the CDOT website.

Comments are closed.

Bringing you regional and national automotive aftermarket news
Verified by MonsterInsights