Press "Enter" to skip to content

Automotive Service Councils Educational Foundation awards 2022 scholarships

The board of trustees awarded 28 scholarships to 24 students for a total of $15,500; since 1998, ASCEF has awarded $183,750 in scholarships

Sacramento, Calif.—The Automotive Service Councils Educational Foundation (ASCEF) has announced that the board of trustees awarded 28 scholarships to 24 students for a total of $15,500. ASCEF scholarships have grown out of a single donation to fully funded scholarships in the name of past ASCCA members, past presidents, or individuals whose influence and dedication to the automotive industry warranted recognition.

“On behalf of the board of trustees, we are thrilled to be helping so many students pursue their career in the automotive aftermarket industry and look forward to welcoming them into the ASCEF family of highly qualified automotive technicians,” said John Eppstein, foundation chair. “By awarding these scholarships, we hope to unite, inspire, and mentor these students while continuing ASCEF’s core mission to support and advance the automotive service industry.”

Through its successful Cars4Careers program, ASCEF turns donated cars into education and training for individuals wanting a career in the automotive service industry. Each year, ASCEF awards scholarships ranging from $500 – $1,000 to high school seniors who plan to enroll in post-high school technical/academic training or college undergraduates in the automotive service field. Since the establishment of the foundation in 1998, ASCEF has awarded $183,750 in scholarships. To donate, click here.

“These scholarships are a fantastic opportunity to support students in pursing their educational goals in automotive repair and will help meet the demand for skilled technicians in our industry, which is at an all-time high,” said David Kusa, ASCEF president. “The 2023 scholarship application opens in October and we encourage all those to apply by March 31, 2023.”  

Congratulations to the following 2022 ASC Educational Foundation scholarship award recipients:

  • Alan & Dee Cherko & Denise Johnson Memorial – Joseph Papa
  • Bill Schoneman Memorial – Yasmin Garcia
  • Bruce Cameron Memorial – Defeng Piao
  • Donald Dirks Memorial & Denise Johnson Memorial – James Imperio
  • Dwain & Carol Bartels Scholarship – Jonathan Aguilar
  • Ed Harris Memorial & Chapter 5 Past President – Melina Camarena
  • Jack Heyler Memorial – Bryan Cero
  • Jim Hunt Memorial & Past President Chapter 5 – Christopher Mark
  • Jim Hunt Memorial – Adeline Hampson
  • Elmer Backen Memorial – Mervin Gonzalez
  • Jim and Maxine Jones – Evan Lyon
  • Past Presidents: ASCEF – Kevin Reyes
  • Past Presidents: ASCCA – Thomas Moore
  • Sheldon Miller Memorial – Anthony Hong
  • Sheldon Miller Memorial – Jason Widjaja
  • Steve Lustig Memorial – Kacrana Chamroeun
  • Gary Villa – Marcos Jimenez
  • ASCEF Scholarship – Ardalan Khalaj
  • James Justus Chapter 24 – Hunter Manes
  • Chapter 24 Scholarship Fund – Jacqueline Melendez Delgado
  • Chapter 24 Scholarship Fund – Andres Geurts-Barreto
  • Chapter 48 – Chuck Overby – Marcos Alvarez-Guzman
  • Chapter 48 – Chuck Overby – Malinda Wijewickrama
  • Chapter 20 Jeff Stich Memorial – TBD

Founded in 1998, The ASC Educational Foundation exists to provide educational and training opportunities, scholarships, and endowments in the field of automotive repair and maintenance. ASCEF Scholarships have been instrumental in helping recipients create rewarding careers in Automotive Technologies.

More from Association NewsMore posts in Association News »
More from Education & TrainingMore posts in Education & Training »
More from Northern CaliforniaMore posts in Northern California »
More from RegionsMore posts in Regions »
More from Southern CaliforniaMore posts in Southern California »

Comments are closed.

Bringing you regional and national automotive aftermarket news