Press "Enter" to skip to content

Oregon dismantlers need to know about new law

Portland, Ore.—Oregon dismantlers need to be aware of a new law going into effect in January of 2020, states the Northwest Automotive Trades Association (NATA).

Here are some of the key elements of the law: 

• It changes the dismantler certificate from the current 3-year period to a 1-year period, and the certificate fee from $800 to $500 per year.

• It increases dismantler bond to $100,000, for certificates renewed or issued on or after May 1, 2020. 

• It requires the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) to conduct annual inspections of any business issued a certificate to determine compliance with specified laws and rules. 

• It prohibits having more than 100 waste tires stored onsite without getting a waste tire permit (dismantlers currently are exempt from this). 

• It directs ODOT to submit a report to the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) if it determines specified items are on the business premises: presence of piled waste tires in an amount greater than 100 waste tires; metal shredder; any open or unlabeled containers of automotive fluids; or  an underground injection control.  

• It requires certificate application or renewal application to include: fire response plan approved by ODOT and proof of any applicable permits required by DEQ. 

• It requires a dismantler business to have its premises inspected annually by local fire inspectors, and to furnish a written report to ODOT. 

• It authorizes ODOT to impose sanctions on a certificate holder for conviction of offense under specified environmental crime statutes.   

• It requires a dismantler business to be in compliance with any agreement, order of, or program or process authorized by DEQ that governs the conduct of dismantlers. 

• It requires local government, prior to issuing supplemental certificate,to notify all property owners that are or will be adjacent to a dismantling business before the business moves, expands or opens an additional location. 

Click here to read the full text of the new law. NATA is planning a “Lunch & Learn” in October for dismantlers who want to learn more about the new law and its impact on your business. Call NATA at (503) 253-9898 for more information.   

Comments are closed.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.