Press "Enter" to skip to content

Industry volunteers and donations help make Oregon SkillsUSA event a success

Three students from Vale High School will be competing in the national competition in June in Atlanta

Portland, Ore.—The Northwest Automotive Trades Association (NATA) extended congratulations to students from Vale High School who were the top finishers in Oregon’s SkillsUSA competition. 

Riley Johnson (2nd in Automotive Service Technology) Ephraim Jensen (1st in Mechanical & Light Repair) and Carson Dayton (1st in Automotive Service Technology and Diesel) will all be competing in the national competition in June. Another Vale student, William Tolman, finished 2nd in Diesel.

Other top finishers include: Brocc Rictor, Harper Charter School (3rd in Automotive Service Technology), Patrick Sintejudean, Aloha High School (2nd in Mechanical & Light Repair) and Mason Sylvia, Sabin Schellenberg (3rd in Mechanical & Light Repair).

There are numerous people and organizations to acknowledge for assistance in making SkillsUSA a success, NATA stated. The event was hosted by the automotive department at Portland Community College (Sylvania Campus) and its staff and students, including: Russ Jones, Jay Kuykendall, Scott Morgan, Kim Kittinger, Bart Ouchida, Jason Jette, Daniel Zuniga, Allen Dye, Janet Gallegos, Greg DelVecchio and Chrissy Torgeson.

The following donated swag for students and volunteers: Ford Motor Company, Beaverton Toyota, Health Net, Factory Motor Parts, Fast Undercar, Automotive Products, Kaiser Permanente, Regence, Subaru of America, WrenchWay, Repworks, Timken, Aisin, Portland Roadster Show/Multnomah Hot Rod Council, ASE (Automotive Service Excellence), Clark College, TTEN (Toyota’s Technician Training & Education Network), NATA and EPB&B.

Donating toward the food served to students and volunteers were: Everett Street Autoworks, Expert Auto Repair, Honest 1 Auto Repair, Atomic Auto, Tigard SUV, Sherwood Auto Repair, Protek Automotive, Association of Women in Automotive, and Leslie Macauley. 

Serving as judges/volunteers were: Mike Burch and Abe Burch (Expert Auto Repair), Devon Newby (Erickson’s Automotive), Scott LaPlante (Sherwood Auto Repair) Diana Hildenbrand (Northwest Automotive Trades Association), Todd Weedman (Shriners), Sarah Heidler (Hawthorne Auto Clinic), Leslie Macauley (PCC – Retired), Pete Holt ( Subaru of America), Jim Waters, Patrice Spears, Chuck Boyer and Levi Johnston (Beaverton Toyota), Tim Ragan (Providence Health & Services), and Adam Burger and Owen Bridge (Snap-on).

More from Collision Education & TrainingMore posts in Collision Education & Training »

Comments are closed.

Bringing you regional and national automotive aftermarket news
Verified by MonsterInsights